PELICAN GROUP OF LAKES IMPROVEMENT DISTRICT 23rd ANNUAL MEMBERSHIP MEETING AUGUST 13, 2017

Directors Present: Jay Elshaug, Larry Kohler, Suzanne Lervick, Bill Kelsven, Bert McDonough, Melody Jensen, Paul Horstmann

The meeting was called to order at 9:02 a.m. Eli Elshaug led the members in the Pledge of Allegiance.

Jay Elshaug introduced the PGOLID board members, the Parliamentarian (Doug Johnson) and the Election Officials (Millie McLeod and Janis Gustafson). Then he presented the agenda.

Harold Hanson moved that the proposed agenda for the 2016 annual meeting be approved as presented. The motion was seconded by Greg Gustafson and passed by the members.

The minutes of the 2015 Annual Membership Meeting were presented. Jeff Peltier moved that the minutes be approved. The motion was seconded by Gary Hart and passed by the members.

Doug Johnson outlined the procedure for electing directors to fill the three open Board of Directors' seats. He introduced the two candidates seeking election to the Board – Jay Elshaug, John Kruse and asked for nominations from the floor for the third open seat. Larry Kohler nominated Peggy Severson on Little Pelican Lake. Denny Tollefson seconded it. The Candidates (Jay Elshaug, John Kruse, and Peggy Severson) gave their candidate statements. The meeting was briefly recessed to allow the members present an opportunity to vote.

Moriya Rufer presented the Water Resource Coordinator's update. Items covered included lake monitoring, invasive species, shoreline projects and tree program and Fish Lake Dam. PGOLID will submit a grant to the DNR to modify the Fish Lake Dam with boulders to produce a natural rock rapids. This design would be very low maintenance in the future.

Skip Duemeland asked about arsenic testing in drinking water. Moriya Rufer answered that testing is available through RMB Environmental Laboratories in Detroit Lakes.

The financial report was presented by Arlan Swenson. There is \$80,000 in cash reserves to date. He presented the proposed 2017 budget. Bert McDonough made a motion to approve the financial report and budget, Pat Herrmann seconded it, and it passed.

Doug Johnson presented the results of the Board of Directors election. Jay Elshaug, John Kruse, and Peggy Severson were each elected to three year terms on the Board.

The members expressed their appreciation to retiring Board members Larry Kohler and Ed Johnson for their six years of dedicated service on the Board.

There being no other business, the meeting adjourned at 10:20 a.m. The motion was made by Denny Tollefson and seconded by Gary Hart.

Respectfully submitted,

Moriya Rufer